But I’m still, I’m still an animal

August 23, 2010 § Leave a comment

Frida Kahlo’s paintings often include nature elements, particularly animals such as monkeys, birds, and, like in this painting, deer. In The Little Deer – 1946, Kahlo really draws a connection between humans and animals when she paints her own head onto the body of a wounded deer. I have interpreted this painting to be symbolic of the animalistic nature of pain. She has been wounded and feels pain just as any other creature might experience.

“I change shapes just to hide in this place
But I’m still, I’m still an animal
Nobody knows it but me when I slip”
– A song by Mike Snow
Kahlo was an artist and created works through her emotions. She used a great deal of symbolism and this song Epoca by Gotan Project, a sutry song of tango, can be seen as a symbol for the difficulties she faced in her life. Her dance, her tango, was to survive the pain and to produce vibrant, meaningful works of art. The voice of the singer is smooth and seductive, but the repetative sound of the accordion leaves the listener with a disturbed, uneasy feeling. I feel this is very representative of Frida. She was a strong woman who knew how to use her mind and body to create beautiful works of art, but at the same time her art was often disturbing and extremely painful to look at. This soundtrack will outline her life through her art and music.
Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading But I’m still, I’m still an animal at Beautiful Things.

meta

